One of Us Is Next – Book Review

Title: One of Us Is Next

Author: Karen M. McManus

Number of Pages: 377 pages

Publisher: Delacorte Press

Publication Date: January 7, 2020

Purchase: Thriftbooks//Amazon//Book Depository

My Rating: 4/5 stars

Synopsis from Goodreads:

Come on, Bayview, you know you’ve missed this.

A ton of copycat gossip apps have popped up since Simon died, but in the year since the Bayview four were cleared of his shocking death, no one’s been able to fill the gossip void quite like he could. The problem is no one has the facts.

Until now.

This time it’s not an app, though—it’s a game.

Truth or Dare.

Phoebe’s the first target. If you choose not to play, it’s a truth. And hers is dark.

Then comes Maeve and she should know better—always choose the dare.

But by the time Knox is about to be tagged, things have gotten dangerous. The dares have become deadly, and if Maeve learned anything from Bronwyn last year, it’s that they can’t count on the police for help. Or protection.

Simon’s gone, but someone’s determined to keep his legacy at Bayview High alive. And this time, there’s a whole new set of rules.

My Thoughts:

I did not actually think I was going to read this because after a period of time, I realized that I wasn’t as in love with the first one like I thought I was.

Once I did decide to read this book, I started it then had to find the first book, One of Us Is Lying, to reread because there was too much time in between the two for me to really remember what had happened in the first book.

I enjoyed this more than the first book which is very rare for me. One of Us Is Next starts a year after One of Us Is Lying. It returns the reader back to Bayview High but it takes on four new people in a game of truth or dare. I love deadly games of truth or dare, I will always read books with that aspect.

I really enjoyed this book. I felt like the plot was more in-depth than the first one. I had more of an emotional connection to this set of characters. I kept wanting to know what happens next that I powered through this in a day.

It felt like there was so much more at stake than what happened in the first book which there was a lot at stake but you knew it was going to work out in the end.

I liked the twists it took you on, one of the major ones was predictable about half way through but that was okay with me.

The multiple POVs made sense and I didn’t feel like they were the same person. In the first one, I felt like all of them were the same one note character.

I highly recommend this if you liked the first one.

Have you read this? If so, what were your thoughts?

Lets talk about it in the comments below!

3 thoughts on “One of Us Is Next – Book Review

  1. thebrowneyedbookworm May 26, 2020 — 1:26 am

    Oh wow, that sounds promising. I actually enjoyed the audiobook for the first book, but then when her last book (2019) wasn’t connected to One of Us is Lying, I stopped caring about a possible sequel, and now I’ve been pushing One of Us is Next from one month to the next. I’ll be bumping it up.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. That’s what happened with me, I didn’t care too much about a sequel with the time stretched between them. I hope you enjoy this one when you get to it!

      Like

Leave a comment

search previous next tag category expand menu location phone mail time cart zoom edit close