How to Make Friends with the Dark – Book Review

Title: How to Make Friends with the Dark

Author: Kathleen Glasgow

Number of Pages: 421 pages

Publisher: Delacorte Press

Publication Date: April 9, 2019

Purchase: Thriftbooks//Amazon

My Rating: 4.5/5 stars

Synopsis from Goodreads: 

Here is what happens when your mother dies.

It’s the brightest day of summer and it’s dark outside. It’s dark in your house, dark in your room, and dark in your heart. You feel like the darkness is going to split you apart.

That’s how it feels for Tiger. It’s always been Tiger and her mother against the world. Then, on a day like any other, Tiger’s mother dies. And now it’s Tiger, alone.

Here is how you learn to make friends with the dark.

My Thoughts:

This book was beautiful but so rough to read. The pain and grief hit so hard and it felt like you were right there with her, feeling all of her pain. Grief in general is one of the roughest experiences I have ever gone through but I cannot imagine the pain and grief of loosing a parent. It is one of my greatest fears that I know will happen one day but you can never be ready for it. My heart is broken after reading this.

Despite how heart wrenching this book is, it is worth the read. This is one of the hardest topics to cover in novels because there is so many different ways that people react. This is honestly one of the worst case scenarios for younger kids and teenagers who are not yet of age. At the end of this book, you will have a strong connection with Tiger almost as if you were fighting this pain and fear with her.

I cried a little while reading it and I teared up a tiny bit while writing this review. It is hard to put into words what I feel with this book. Just read the book and you will understand everything.

What books are you trying to tackle this summer? Any recommendations?

Also, if anyone is interested in a buddy read for August, let me know.

 

1 thought on “How to Make Friends with the Dark – Book Review

Leave a comment

search previous next tag category expand menu location phone mail time cart zoom edit close