The Way You Make Me Feel – Book Review

Title: The Way You Make Me Feel

Author: Maurene Goo

Number of Pages: 323 pages

Publisher: Farrar, Straus and Giroux Byr

Publication Date: May 8, 2018

Purchase: Thriftbooks//Amazon

My Rating: 3/5 stars

 Synopsis from Goodreads:

From the author of I Believe in a Thing Called Love, a laugh-out-loud story of love, new friendships, and one unique food truck.

Clara Shin lives for pranks and disruption. When she takes one joke too far, her dad sentences her to a summer working on his food truck, the KoBra, alongside her uptight classmate Rose Carver. Not the carefree summer Clara had imagined. But maybe Rose isn’t so bad. Maybe the boy named Hamlet (yes, Hamlet) crushing on her is pretty cute. Maybe Clara actually feels invested in her dad’s business. What if taking this summer seriously means that Clara has to leave her old self behind? With Maurene Goo’s signature warmth and humor, The Way You Make Me Feel is a relatable story of falling in love and finding yourself in the places you’d never thought to look.

My Thoughts:

This is so cute, much cuter than I originally thought it was going to be. It was sickly sweet and I was so here for it! There really is not any other way to describe it.

I really enjoyed Rose. At the beginning, she is Clara’s enemy but they start diving deeper with her character and she truly does grow to become a better person. She is a good person under the surface, maybe a little high strung, but good none the less. I would want her as a best friend. I really feel for this girl.

Clara is a little more difficult to talk about. She is a very selfish person and even though she has character growth, but that selfishness is still there under the surface. She loves her dad and that comes across at the end but she never acts like it throughout the story. At the end of the day, it is all about her and she doesn’t seem to care who she knocks down to get her way. Clara is not even very loyal to the people in her life and that is also hard to get through.

Hamlet was also super sweet but he did get annoying in some places. I understood Clara’s frustration with him towards the end. Did she act the best way? No, but she learned and that’s really important. Hamlet is the guy everyone hopes to find someday.

Originally, the food truck aspect caught my eye and is part of the reason I stayed. I don’t know why but I love food trucks.

Despite my dislike for Clara, I would really recommend this if you wanted a cute, quick summer read. I read it in one sitting.

What books are you currently reading? Any recommendations?

Leave a comment